Welcome!

Hello readers! Whether you are an admitted student who will be joining our community this fall as a freshman or if you’re a prospective student in the midst of the college process, I hope you will all enjoy hearing about my own personal experiences here at Bentley University. By sharing my experiences in blog posts, I’m hoping that you’ll get a better sense of what life at Bentley entails and be able to better determine if Bentley could be a good fit for you. Before I start blogging about my experiences, I wanted to share with you all a little bit about myself.

For starters, my name is Carolyn Jenkins and I’m from Andover, MA. I graduated from Bentley in May. Saying I graduated is a scary thing to type out. As you can see, I am still in denial that college is over and that I actually graduated. Anyway…

Most college grads always say that college was the best four years of their life. For me however, I can only say I had the best three years of my life at Bentley since I didn’t transfer here until my sophomore year. I attended a different university in CT for my freshman year, where I studied business and met some amazing people. Unfortunately, although I had a great group of friends and felt like the school was a good fit academically, campus never felt like home to me. It seemed as though something was missing and it was not the college experience I wanted. Lucky for me, my parents were supportive of my decision to transfer and choosing Bentley was by far the best decision I ever made.

I transferred to Bentley knowing I had a strong interest in business, but uncertain of which major was right for me. After my first semester and completing a marketing class, I declared my major as Marketing, with a minor in law (another interest of mine). I’ve become passionate about marketing over the years, so much so that I decided to apply to the Master’s Candidate Program here at Bentley, in hopes of completing my Master’s degree in a 5th year. I’m happy to report that I have been accepted into the Master’s Program and I’ll be continuing my studies here at Bentley studying Marketing Analytics this fall. It’s true… I loved Bentley so much that I’m just not quite ready to leave.

I always tried to stay busy during my undergraduate career. As early as my first week on campus I had signed up for several clubs and organizations, such as Campus Activities Board, Bentley Fashion Consultants and HerCampus. I started working on campus as well, becoming a tour guide (or as we call them here, an “ambassador”) by the end of spring semester. I also gave back to my transfer community by becoming a Transfer Seminar Facilitator and Orientation Leader for two years. By my senior year, I was fortunate enough to become an Admission Fellow, where I interview prospective students and work alongside admission counselors, assisting them in various ways.

The 2014-2015 Admission Fellows at our Secret Santa party
The 2014-2015 Admission Fellows at our Secret Santa reveal

So now you might ask what does post grad life entail for me this summer? Well, as I wait to begin graduate school this fall I’m back at the Undergraduate Admissions Office, working as an Admission Fellow once again. If any of you reading are visiting Admissions this summer, be sure to say hello!

Well… that’s enough about me. I’ll be sure to share with you all some of my favorite Bentley experiences and the aspects of Bentley I found most appealing as a student here. Hope you all enjoy!

Bentley Library

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a comment